Sounds from the Attic – March 19, 1995

July 2, 2014 – 6:35 pm

Sounds from the Attic was the radio show I hosted on WMWC 540 AM, the radio station of Mary Washington College, during my freshman year (1994-1995). I was very much finding my voice and style throughout the year, so don’t expect much in terms of mixing, but the song selection is pretty solid on this episode (just please ignore the horrendous freestyles). My buddy Rob was a guest in the studio that night. This was recorded the night before I went to DC (first time!) to interview Macka B and Nolan Irie for Reggae Report and a week before I was to interview Michael Franti of Spearhead (and have a not-so-great experience trying to interview the Digable Planets).

Track Listing

Side A/B – 9:50-11:20pm
Side C – 11:20pm-Midnight

  • Sounds from the Attic Intro… Laze
  • People in the Middle… Spearhead
  • 9th Wonder… Digable Planets
  • Vibe Khameleonz… Sha-Key
  • Strange… Boogiemonsters
  • (break)
  • Hand of a Dead Body (feat. Ice Cube)… Scarface
  • We Got It Hemmed… Cella Dwellas
  • Daaam! (Buckwild Remix)… Tha Alkaholiks
  • It Ain’t Hard to Tell (Urban Ambiance Remix Lite)… Nas
  • Shook Ones Part II… Mobb Deep
  • Resurrection… Common
  • (break)
  • The Adventures Of Grandmaster Flash On The Wheels Of Steel… Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five
  • Rapture… Blondie
  • Spoonin’ Rap… Spoonie Gee
  • Silicone on Sapphire… The Clash
  • Rapper’s Delight… Sugarhill Gang
  • (break)
  • Socio-Genetic Experiment… Disposable Heroes of Hiphoprisy
  • We Love Reggae… Macka B
  • Maggot Ass Bitches… Totally Insane
  • Tower with the Power… YZ
  • Ain’t Whatcha Do… Bas Blasta
  • The Next Level… Tha Alkaholiks
  • Brand New Heavy Freestyle… Def Jef
  • Boo Boo Heads… Del tha Funkee Homosapien
  • (break)

(You can download the show in various formats at the Internet Archive page.)

Post a Comment